Greens on election footing as first 10 General Election candidates selected

1st November 2017

The Green Party have today unveiled their first 10 selected candidates for the next General Election, stating that the party is ready to build on their return to the Dáil in 2016 and increase their representation. The Party hopes to field a Green candidate in every constituency, as it did in 2011 and 2016, to offer a Green choice to every voter.


Speaking today, Green Party Leader Eamon Ryan TD said: “We’re delighted to unveil our first batch of candidates for the next general election – whenever that may be. We are in a good place in terms of the strength of the party. Our membership has doubled to 1,800 in the past two years, and we’ve had some very competitive selection conventions, which is a good sign. Like in 2016, we intend to contest every constituency, with the aim of tripling our team of TDs from 2 to 6.


“We believe we will have a unique, forward looking, positive message for voters at the next election, and we have enormous faith in our candidates to deliver this message on the doors. The 6 women and 4 men we are putting forward today are a mix of new and experienced candidates, come from rural and urban areas and have a fantastic diversity of experience. Whenever the next election is, we’ll be ready for it.”


Commenting on the announcement, Green Party Deputy Leader and TD for Dublin Rathdown, Catherine Martin, said: “This first group of candidates for the next General Election is reflective of the substantial growth we have experienced in recent years, and it is testament to this that we have such strong new candidates putting themselves forward.  Gender equality is at the heart of our party’s ethos, so I am thrilled to see a balance of great women and men running for the party.”


The candidates announced were:

Eamon Ryan TD for Dublin Bay South ( @eamonryan ) 

Catherine Martin TD for Dublin Rathdown ( @cathmartingreen )

Senator Grace O’Sullivan for Waterford ( @GraceOSllvn )

Councillor Roderic O’Gorman for Dublin West ( @rodericogorman )

Councillor Francis Noel Duffy for Dublin South West ( @FNDuffy )

Peter Kavanagh for Dublin Mid-West ( @theKavOfficial )

Mags Sheehan for Mayo ( @angryinmayo )

Neasa Hourigan for Dublin Central ( @neasa_neasa )

Pippa Hackett for Laois-Offaly ( @pippa_hackett )

Pauline O’Reilly for Galway West ( @paulinegalway )